Szechuan Bistro

First I think I should admit to having ate their food twice in two days. Now I can continue.
We stopped in here because we wanted something hot and spicy due to the illness contracted by the ol’ bf. It advertised hot and spicy, and that wasn’t really what we got. The service was quick at first (probably because we went in at 5pm) but slowed down as the phone started to ring and people came in. Most people took the food to go, which is unfortunate because I had a sizzling plate of noodles and the best part was definetly the sizzled bottom! Brett had the mongolian beef which was good, though nothing out of the park. It was all hot and tasty enough, but nothing exceptional, other then the sizzled part of my hand shaven noodles.
Being a sucker for hand shaven noodles as I am, I then indulged in a little delivery action from them last night. I had the fried dumplings, which were good but not great, though the dipping sauce was exceptional. Anytime a restaurant differs from the traditional dumpling sauce I am pleased, this was a reddish spicy sauce. The salt and pepper pan cake, however was like chewing on tasteless cardboard. I also tried the spicy hand shaven noodle house special chow mein. The noodles were good (though not as good as the sizzled ones, but the meat was somewhat frightening and there was a lack of any vegetables. Furthermore the delivery took almost an hour.
That said, they are dirt cheap (under $7 for most entrees) and have hand shave noodles, two things I love in a chinese restaurant. The third thing I love in one? Delivery to my house. So I will go ahead and say yes to Szechuan bistro…though I might try to stick to noodles!

Leave a Reply

