The Old Peculiar

I love pub trivia, and I had heard that the trivia at the OP was legendary, so I decided to give it a shot. I recruited the man and a friend and her man and the four of us went. I got there at 615 to snag a table, though if you stood around and got lucky, you could snag them up until right about 7. But this isn’t about trivia.

We mostly drank and enjoyed ourselves, though I got hungry and ordered a mac and cheese. I don’t expect much from pub grub. In fact, I don’t even need the veggies to be on the plate. I liked my mac and cheese–penne and cheese with garlicky bread crumbs on top, to be honest. I don’t care where it came from or if it were microwaved, it satisfied the need. I enjoyed it. But on the side of my mac and cheese were some veggies. Frozen veggies. I don’t mean previously frozen veggies that they heated up for me. I mean my cauliflower was still fully frozen.

The boy didn’t even try his veggies, but enjoyed his bangers and mash. He got soup with his, but found it to be luke warm (and what is french onion soup with out paremsan (or cheese at all) on top?).

Which brings me to my main point: OP, my darling, you are a nice pub. You pull good pints, people like you, and your main dishes, they aint bad. So why even put the veggies on there? why serve the soup? I’m not there to eat my veggies. I’m there for the beer. and maybe a mac and cheese…

Leave a Reply

