Gourd Tastic: Part 1–Delicata Fettucini

It’s fall here in the northwest and my favorite season to boot. The fun of fall vegetables never fails, as you can see in the previously posted pumpkin soup recipe. I also created a butternut squash ravioli that I unfortuantely didn’t manage to post about. But the fun never ends with gourds, as this weekend I ventured into new territory: Delicata squash and Pumpkin pie.

I don’t want to post the picture of the delicata fettucini I made because the picture does no justice to the tastiness of the meal itself. We came home from the pumkin patch starving and bearing a 2 large delicata squashes. The fun part of delicata is that you can eat the skin, so of course this (and the rush to eat) made me think that I could sautee it. I had never sauteed a squash before, so I tried at first to cut the pieces quite small, but after a taste fry, I realized it was going to be fairly quick to fry up, so I ended up cutting the onion and the squash as close to the width of the fettucini as possible in order to get some textural consistancy. I won’t say this is a top dish of all time, but I did think that it was great for starving squash bearing people who can’t handle waiting for the thing to roast in an oven.

Enough for two people, with leftovers:
1/4 large delicata squash
1/4 large white onion
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and Pepper
Oregano
Basil
1 package fresh fettucini (I loved how the tenderness of the fresh noodles played with the squash texture–just a touch more al dente, but you could sub out dried if neccesary)

Put the oil in the pan and sautee the squash and onion, adding the vinegar pretty early on to let it caramalize a bit in the pan. Add the herbs to taste at the end. Just as the veggies are getting ready to finish up, toss the pasta in the pot. When you pull it out, put it in to the pan with the veggies and toss them all together–this got the noodles totally coated with the vinegar and herbs, and made them taste terrific.

The whole thing took maybe 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

