Berebere Delicious Pasta Sauce

imgp1259.jpg

First of all: I don’t like marinara. There, I said it. No, I don’t like red sauce, and yes, that means on pizza, lasagna and pasta. Not even on my mozzarella sticks. A cardinal sin of foodie-ness? I’m okay with it. Just a little background on my quest for an alternative pasta sauce. And yes, I do love tomatoes.

A little while ago we were out for a fantastic Ethiopian meal, and when they gave us our doggy bag, they gave us some berebere, the spice mixture, to go with. I’ve been wanting to use it for something for a while and hadn’t found the right use, but when I spotted a friendly red bell pepper in our fridge, on the cusp of going bad, I suddenly knew. I roasted the red pepper under the broiler for about 15 minutes, so I could pull the skin off easily, then peeled it off and chopped the pepper pretty small. I sauteed some onions and garlic in a bit of non-stick cooking spray, then added about a quarter cup of chicken stock. At this point, my kitchen smelled pretty heavenly. I put the pasta on to cook. Threw the pepper bits into the stock, a long with about a tablespoon of berebere, but you can adjust that for your spice level. This was quite spicy. I let the sauce boil nd reduce til the peppers were only just barely still a seperate entity from the sauce, then tore up some basil leaves. This is the stage in the picture above. Poured the pasta in to this sauce, gave it a few sautee shakes, and voila, easy berebere pasta for one.

Leave a Reply

