The Ethiopian Feast Part 2: Eat your Veggies

To go along with our meaty parts of the Ethiopian feast I made two veggie dishes, both of which I have seen on most every Ethiopian menu. The first was a simple salad with a very flavorful dressing. For this, I simply chopped romaine lettuce, white onions, half a jalapeno and a roma tomato and tossed them in a dressing. The dressing was the juice of half a lemon, a tablespoon of olive oil, 2 cloves of garlic (I said very flavorful!) with salt and pepper.

The greens were a little more complicated. I was hoping to do mustard greens, but the Greenwood Market seemed to not have those, so I chose collard greens instead. Also included in this dish were: half a green pepper (chopped), half an onion (chopped), 2 small thai hot peppers (diced), 2 cloves of garlic (minced), about a teaspoon of chopped ginger, nitter kibe, salt, pepper, cardamom and stock.

I chopped off the stems of the greens and blanched those for a good while. In the mean time I sauteed the green peppers, hot peppers, garlic, ginger and onion in two tablespoons of nitter kibe. I then added the greens’ stems and began blanching the leaves, while I continued to sautee the rest. When the leaves were done blanching, I added them to the sautee pan and poured in about a cup of chicken stock. Seasoned this with salt, pepper and a touch of cardamom. Once this had reduced down (about 15-20 minutes) it was ready to eat.

Leave a Reply

