The Ethiopian Feast: Part 3– Goat meat stew

stew.jpg

I tried to make this goat stew in the style of Doro Wat, a very common chicken dish in Ethiopia. I just like goat meat more than chicken.

First off, I marinated about a half pound of goat meat chunks in the juice of one lemon, with a pinch of salt for about half an hour. This is a good time to make one hard boiled egg per person eating. In the meantime, I began cooking one onion, chopped, dry in a pot. Once it had cooked a bit (about 5 minutes) I added four tablespoons of nitter kibe, a pinch of cardamom, two tablespoons of berebere (though adjust to your own spice preference, this was quite spicy, a half teaspoon of salt, about a tablespoon of chopped ginger and four cloves of chopped garlic. I sauteed these till the onions were translucent. At this point I added in a cup of stock and brought the whole thing to a boil. Once boiling, I turned it down to a simmer and added the goat meat, along with the marinade. I let it stew with the lid on for about an hour, though I probably could have kept going for even more tender goat. I then removed the lid and turned the heat up till it was at a rolling boil so that it would reduce. I also added the hard boiled egg back in here, first piercing it all over with a knife so that it absorbed the flavors. After about a half hour, it had reduced down to a stew like texture and was ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

