Crispy, Crunchy, Balls of Spring

Radishes, of course! They are wonderful. One of the few culinary tips passed on to me by my mother, each spring our fridge would always contain a bowl full of crisp clean water with radishes, trimmed and ready to eat, happily bobbing up and down in the water. I don’t know the scientific reasons behind refrigerating them in this manner, but I do know when you open the fridge for a snack in spring time and you see these beautiful, bright red spheres bouncing about, there is no way to resist. Biting in to a crispy radish, the satisfying crunch, the spiciness of the flavor giving a little bite right back. A true way to begin the season. The french mellow the flavor with butter and salt, but this is one of the few foods I keep unadulterated, even as much as I always love a vehicle for butter and salt. Something about the clean crunch of a radish I don’t want to alter.

Leave a Reply

