Strawberry Mint Frozen Yogurt

Supplies were dwindling, the economy hitting home. I couldn’t bear the thought of not having my latest ice cream flavor in the freezer. You give a girl an ice cream maker… Suddenly I was an addict. I contemplated my fridge–the dairy was scarce, no milk, no cream. I refused to go to the store and buy more milk, cream and eggs. A $10 run could easily turn scary big. Could I unmake the cream that I’d made into butter last week? Then, hanging out in the back corner of the second shelf, there it was. The final third of a Cascade Fresh plain flavor yogurt. It tasted a little tangy, but definitely still good. It went to the counter and I set to work. The main flavor was easy–a bag of strawberries in the freezer from an impulse Costco purchase that, no matter how hard we tried, we were unable to finish last month. But what else? I lacked the citrus I would normally add for freshness. I dug in the crisper, and came up with some sorry looking mint. Sorry enough that I had to do some creative chopping for only the good parts. It was settled, strawberry mint frozen yogurt.

How to make:

Dissolve 2 tablespoons of baker’s sugar into a half cup of vodka, set aside

Chop the strawberries (I used about 2 cups because it was what I had) and add to the yogurt (again, I used what I had, about a cup) and blend. When almost fully blended, add the mint.

Stir in the vodka/sugar mixture and put in the fridge to chill for one hour, then churn in an ice cream maker.

Leave a Reply

