The Omnivore’s 100

The blogosphere is a strange place, but every once in a while I come by something I find very cool. This was one of those things. This is from http://www.verygoodtaste.co.uk:

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.

2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.

3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.

4) Optional extra: Post a comment here and atwww.verygoodtaste.co.uk linking to your results.

The Gastrognome’s Omnivore’s Hundred: I have 63 out of hundred. You?

1. Venison–I love this meat, especially the dear meat sausage that father of one of the kids I coach makes. 

2. Nettle tea–no but I look forward to nettle season at the farmer’s market–something new to try!

3. Huevos rancheros –love ’em!

4. Steak tartare–in the running for my favorite dish

5. Crocodile–does gator count? but no on the croc.

6. Black pudding–I think I might have when I was in England, but I don’t actually remember.

7. Cheese fondue–yup, both my own crappy version and in the high mountains of Switzerland

8. Carp

9. Borscht–Another one I think I must have…but can’t say for sure.

10. Baba ghanoush

11. Calamari 

12. Pho–Hello, I live in Seattle

13. PB&J sandwich

14. Aloo gobi–I must have…but I can’t specifically remember. Damn I love Indian food, though.

15. Hot dog from a street cart–Hello I live in Seattle. Yeah, so that means it may have had cream cheese on it…

 16. Epoisses

17. Black truffle–I think we’ll need to remedy that.

18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes

19. Steamed pork buns–Had dim sum just this morning. I heart Mee Sum

20. Pistachio ice cream

21. Heirloom tomatoes

22. Fresh wild berries–Hello, I live in Seattle! Love the blackberries all over the place.

23. Foie gras Yup, and I’ll eat it again. and again….

24. Rice and beans Clear that one with living in South America

25. Brawn, or head cheese–Love me some offal!

26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper–Not that I know of…Though I once ate a raw piece of rocoto pepper and thought I would die for the next bunch of hours…

27. Dulce de leche Sigh. Thanks Uruguay

28. Oysters–Did someone say Oysterfest?

29. Baklava

30. Bagna cauda

31. Wasabi peas

32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl

33. Salted lassi –I’m not positive. Definitely mango ones…but salted? I’m not sure.

34. Sauerkraut

35. Root beer float

36. Cognac with a fat cigar –No more cigars for me, after yesterday. I smelled and tasted like an ash tray!

37. Clotted cream tea

38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O (Thanks, college)

39. Gumbo

40. Oxtail

41. Curried goat

42. Whole insects–My ants were lemon flavored!

43. Phaal

44. Goat’s milk

45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more

46. Fugu

47. Chicken tikka masala

48. Eel

49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut–Yup, I did. What did you do with your prom night?

50. Sea urchin

51. Prickly pear 

52. Umeboshi

53. Abalone

54. Paneer

55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal

56. Spaetzle

57. Dirty gin martini

58. Beer above 8% ABV–Yes and it resulted on standing on the roof of a hostel in Belgium helping some guy through all of his t-shirts on to the ground below at 3am, which in turn resulted in nearly missing my flight back to the states at 9 the next morning. 

59. Poutine

60. Carob chips

61. S’mores

62. Sweetbreads

63. Kaolin

64. Currywurst

65. Durian

66. Frogs’ legs

67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake

68. Haggis

69. Fried plantain

70. Chitterlings, or andouillette

71. Gazpacho

72. Caviar and blini

73. Louche absinthe

74. Gjetost, or brunost

75. Roadkill

76. Baijiu –No, but looking that one up makes me want to try it!

77. Hostess Fruit Pie

78. Snail

79. Lapsang souchong

80. Bellini

81. Tom yum

82. Eggs Benedict

83. Pocky

84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant.

85. Kobe beef

86. Hare

87. Goulash

88. Flowers

89. Horse –Nope…but Brett took the most amazing pic of it when he ate it in Japan. It’s definitely on the list to try.

90. Criollo chocolate

91. Spam

92. Soft shell crab

93. Rose harissa

94. Catfish

95. Mole poblano

96. Bagel and lox

97. Lobster Thermidor

98. Polenta

99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee

100. Snake

Leave a Reply

