Never take Pizza Advice from a Brit

Duck Proscuitto, Caramelized Onion and Mozzarella Pizza

Duck Prosciutto, Caramelized Onion and Mozzarella Pizza

Oh, the picture is supposed to be taken before we dive in? That would make more sense. No, actually we were checking our not very brown crust to make sure it was done, but I later decided we needed a picture. I had previously used Mark Bittman’s crust recipe in How to Cook Everything, but I didn’t like it a whole lot. I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea to adapt from Jaime Oliver’s Naked Chef cookbook to make a pizza, I mean, what do the Brits know about pizza? What we did turn out from it was some mighty delicious flatbread.
Zucchini Blossom Flatbred (Pizza)

Zucchini Blossom Flatbred (Pizza)

Have I mentioned recently that I love zucchini blossoms? Like LOVE, Love?
To make a very good flatbred (but not a good pizza) (adapted from The Naked Chef):
2 lbs flour
2 cups of water
1 ounce of yeast
1.5 Tablespoons of salt
Mix in a mixer, use bread hook to knead thouroughly, let rise for 2 hours. Punch down and roll out dough. Let rise for 10 minutes. Poke holes all over with a fork, except on the crust. Brush crust with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. See toppings for more on that.  Bake 10-15 minutes in 475 degree oven.
Toppings:
For the zucchini blossom one I baked the crust for 5 minutes, then added the blossoms (cut in half, lengthwise), parmesan cheese shavings, olive oil, salt and pepper, then baked another 7 minutes.
For the duck I put about 3 ounces of mozzarella on, torn into chunks, and topped with about half an onion worth of caramelized onions (done ahead of time on the stove). I shaved on top some of my duck prosciutto. Really enjoyed the cooked version of the prosciutto, so if you’ve tried this, I highly reccomend it as a pizza topping. Or, you know, flatbread topping.
Leave a Reply

