Totally Winging It: Peanut Butter and Banana Ice Cream

Peanut Butter and Banana Ice Cream

Peanut Butter and Banana Ice Cream

An ice cream to take you down memory lane. A recipe pulled from thin air. Some things, my friends, are magic.

I don’t remember how the conversation started. All I know is that one second I was idly having a beer at a bar in Ballard, the next I was struck with inspiration. Demanding that we stop for milk and cream on the ride home, I devised a plan. It looked like this: Consult internet for banana ice cream recipe, mix in peanut butter at the end.

The first problem was that I couldn’t find a banana ice cream recipe I liked. I would have used Alton Brown’s, but I would have had to thaw the frozen bananas I had planned on using. A girl spontaneously making ice cream at 9:30 at night does not have time to thaw bananas. And then I knew what I had to do (I swear to god the delicious Pike Porter I had been drinking had nothing to do this decision). I just started throwing things in. Totally winging it. It was scary, letting my bananas disappear into the murky unknown of my sauce pot.

But you know what? When I churned the ice cream the next day, it tasted amazing. The second problem arose shortly there after. I had planned a milky white banana ice cream with swirls of caramel colored peanut butter. I looked at the dried ends of a jar of Adam’s extra crunchy peanut butter. I love Adam’s, but see, the thing is, the oil all comes to the top, and by the bottom of the jar, you’ve just not got enough oil. So I added peanut oil, so it would swirl. Problem solved? I think not. It just mixed right in. I watched in disappointment as the caramel colored (oily) peanut butter jumped into bed with that milky white banana ice cream, and made sweet (ha!) murky love to it. And that, my friends, is why this ice cream is such an ugly color.

Here’s the thing. It might look like paper mache paste, but once it is in your mouth, I promise you will be instantly transported to a time in your life where the peanut butter and banana sandwich was still the ultimate treat. A time before you had discovered Salumi or banh mi.

Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream

5 frozen bananas

1 teaspoon plain oil (Canola or other)

.5 cup brown sugar

.5 cup cream

1 cup milk

.5 cup extra chunky peanut butter

Put the oil in a pan over medium heat until hot, then add the bananas. Cover and let the bananas warm up a bit, then add the brown sugar. When the sugar is totally disolved in oil/thawed banana mush, lower heat and add cream, then milk. Blend the whole thing very well, then strain. Put in fridge to cool over night, then churn the next day. When almost done churning, add peanut butter.

NOTE: I used extra chunky because it was what we had, but one of the nicest parts of this is the little delicious nuggets of peanut butter afloat in the ice cream, so I do recommend that you use it as well.

Leave a Reply

