End of Summer Soup: Cold and Spicy Tomato

Olive Oil Poached Shrimp in Spicy Tomato Soup

Olive Oil Poached Shrimp in Spicy Tomato Soup

In the course of the last few days, many beautiful heirloom tomatos had randomly landed in my lap. Rather, my kitchen. I was not about to let these go to waste, but after a full summer of lovely tomato salads and capreses galore, I was ready for a new application. It occured to me that a cold gazpacho type soup would be the way to go.

I had no plan as I threw all the tomatos (1 large and about 5 small heirloom tomatos) and the one and a half jalapeno peppers I had into a bowl, squeezed on half a lime and, well, immersed, my immersion blender. WHOA! Too much jalapeno. It was so spicy I started to choke on the fumes coming out of my large mixing bowl. Seriously. I opened the fridge in search of something to tone it down. Heavy whipping cream (left over from recent ice cream concoctions). Perfect. I emptied the half cup or so that was left in to the bowl, blended and tasted. Edible now, but not exactly a perfect cold soup. I debated the traditional gaspacho route, soaking bread and adding it, but given the only bread around was oat nut, it seemed like a bad idea.

Then I saw it. A random impulse purchase from the Chinese Market. Fresh tofu. Perfect. I cut off a square about the size of two decks of cards and blended it in. Perfect. In addition to being the foil to my overzelous spicing, it gave the creamy soup a bit of texture, some staying power on the tongue. To finish, I blended in a handful of cilantro, salt, pepper and topped with my oil poached shrimp.

Oil Poached Shrimp

8 Frozen Shrimp

A bunch of olive oil

Place shrimp flat in a small pan, so they are all flat in the pan. Pour in enough olive oil to come half way up the shrimp and put flame on lowest setting. After about 8 minutes–tails should be red, but not the body that is uncovered, flip them and wait another 3-5 minutes. Drain the shrimp on paper towel and set in the fridge.

Cold Spicy Tomato Tofu Soup

2 Large heirloom tomatos or equivilent amount

1-2 Jalapenos, depending on desired heat level

.5 cup Cream

Block of fresh tofu

Handful of Cilantro

Salt, Pepper

.5 Lime

Chop the tomatos and jalapenos, squeeze the lime over them and blend. Add the cream and the tofu until you have the desired level of spiciness, then sprinkle with salt, pepper and cilantro to taste. Refrigerate for at least an hour. When ready to serve, drop shrimp on top.

Leave a Reply

