My First Bento

Yeah, I’m calling it now. The next big trend in America in food. Bento, the Japanese art of packing a lunch. It has already caught on a little bit, but I’m saying an explosion, here, people. The economy is down, people need to pack those lunches. They want healthy. Bento is, by definition, healthy. So I decided to get a head start and practice my bento making skill.

My First Bento

My First Bento

 

I tried as hard as I could to adhere to what I know about bento making. I know that it is supposed to be 3:2:1 rice:fruit/veg/protein, so you can see that I’ve got about half rice with little sesame seed eyes and a big hot sauce grin going on. Next I added a sliced peach, but needed something to hold it in place–no empty space allowed in bento making, so I added the granola bar for protein. In the last compartment I’ve got some radishes supported by kim chee.

As you can see, there is room for improvement. I would have liked to had some green in this–one of the big things is that color, texture and taste should all be varied. The whole right side is red/orange/pink. That is bad. The only green thing in my fridge was leeks, though, so that was of no help. But it was a start, and this seems like something that comes with practice. I normally like balance in looking at bentos more than the silly faces and designs, but my rice looked very empty, so I decided to give it some features.

6 Responses

  1. NOW you’re talking my language – bento yes, lard no!

    Sounds great; loved the silly grin.

    I sometimes pack a sandwich for lunch; bento sounds better.

  2. I like your first bento, keep it up!! It is encouraging to see a new bento packer. I tend to pack lunches along the same lines as you–keeping it fun & cute. I still lack the skill of the beautiful food art you see out there, but we all have to start somewhere 🙂

  3. Nice to see another bento blogger.

  4. Wow, the bento sure made a splash with your reader. My coworker liked it too! Keep it up.

  5. You need octopus hot dogs!!!

  6. looks quite good – geez, that made me hungry~
    ラエル

Leave a Reply

