My Mind, It has Been Blown.

I have written before about my love of Quinn’s. Walking distance from my house, extensive selection of wines at every level and in every size, innumerable different kinds of beer and simply impeccable food that goes out on a limb. Food everyone can enjoy, from the simple bread salad to the braised oxtail, they do great food. But last night, for the first time, they totally blew my mind.

I can’t get over it. I’d never seen it before. We ordered the bone marrow 2 ways, a dish I expected would come, as marrow usually does, with one bone, cut horizontally into rounds, so the marrow was inside. But oh, no, not last night. Last night at Quinn’s, the bone had been cut VERTICALLY! Instead of having narrow holes to dig the meat from, there were two long boats, offering up easily accessible seas of marrow. No more digging in with tiny spoons, scratching at the dark abyss of bone in front of you. I could simply sweep my toast across the surface of the open faced bone and absorb the meaty flavor. 

Why? Why hasn’t anyone thought of this before? Why doesn’t everyone do this? I cannot fathom. I’m going to see my butcher later this week and see if I can get some insight. In the meantime…my mind, it is blown.

2 Responses

  1. wow that is brilliant, so much more civilized than whacking the bones against the dish trying to dislodge the last nuggets that you can’t dig out but can see…

  2. Oh, how I wish I lived within walking distance of Quinn’s.

Leave a Reply

