The Seattle Food and Wine Experience

If it weren’t for the fact that I already had a press pass to the Seattle Food and Wine Experience, I think I would have looked like a cartoon character. You know when there are two things they want, they look back and forth, trying to make a decision until finally their head just explodes? Yeah, that would have been me, because in the other half of the event center was the Ski and Snowboard Show.

Upon entering the show I was handed a wine glass and released into the maze of food and beverage. I started to wander slowly, first trying wines being made by Clif bar (did you know they did that? I didn’t), then a brand called Bandit that comes in an oversize juice box. I liked their merlot a lot. Then I ran into an old friend, whose mother has started a nut butter business. I will spare you the flood of revolting and immature jokes that I am oh so tempted to write because, well, my grandmother reads this. Instead, this is what she is making:I tasted this one and the one next to it that tasted like a cinnamon roll. 

Soon I realized I was running out of time till Holly Smith of Cafe Juanita would be cooking. I watched her cooking demo, as she and her sous sort of bumbled aimlessly around the stage. It was one of those moments when you see just how difficult doing a cooking demo is. I decided that I didn’t need to watch another unprofessional cooking demo and wandered out to sample foods. 

One of the more inventive eats I found was this pork belly on apple served with bacon powder. I have a lot of respect for molecular gastronomy and have always been interested in eating at restaurants that practice it, but the bacon powder from crush left me not nearly as impressed as I was with the apples and pork belly served next to it. 

My favorite taste, though, was definitely the wild boar orechiette from Volterra. This was amazingly tender and deep flavors and blew the rest of the food away. Rover’s had some interesting sounding dishes out–an elk dish, a rabbit dish, but they had somewhat muddled flavors. However, I went back to the cooking demos to watch Thierry Rateureau perform, knowing his amazing stage presence and ability to connect to an audience, and was not disappointed when he showed us how to make venison medallions.

The whole event was very fun and while I had been somewhat sick and lagging on my way in, I left with a full tummy and a pleased palate, having enjoyed my afternoon at the Seattle Food and Wine Experience.

One Response

  1. […] So despite what’s being said, I stand by my ethics and I will continue to accept free things and tell you about them. Including this lovely pair of tickets I to  Seattle Food and Wine Experience, but will now not be able to attend. I went last year (as a freelancer, with a media pass from that employer, since you didn’t ask), and you can read about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

