Spaghetti from a Squash

Spaghetti Squash a la Carbonara

Spaghetti Squash a la Carbonara

 I had never prepared spaghetti squash, but I had been told to simply treat it as if it were pasta once I had roasted it. Problem one came here–I couldn’t cut the raw squash! It was hard as a rock. I had to roast it nearly half an hour before I could get a knife through it. When I finally did, I roasted it for another 20 minutes. When it came out, I could scrape my fork along the inside and out it came, like a bundle of noodles.

 

Spaghetti Squash

Spaghetti Squash

Then, as I’d been told, I just treated it like carbonara, sauteeing my pieces of bacon with a red onion and then tossing it over the ‘noodles’ and adding parmesan cheese and two eggs, letting the heat of the bacon grease cook the eggs.

Leave a Reply

