Kale Chips from the Back of the Pack

kale-chip

Why am I so behind on these things? Every food blogger worth their cayenne laced salt did a version of these, probably about a year ago. But tonight, with a giant bag of kale that needed to be used up , like, you know, yesterday, I realized that there was a recipe I still needed to make. I may not be the first to make these or the first to realize their deliciousness, I may be late to the party, but I have to get my voice in their with the others–these things are awesome.

In a total of 20 minutes, my giant sack of kale went from nanoseconds from rotting to a delightful and healthful snack awaiting their munchie fulfilling destiny on my counter. The process was cathartic from the start, as I ripped the sturdy leafs from their woody stocks, spreading them on a foil covered cookie sheet. I sprayed heartily with olive oil and sprinkled liberally with a combination of salt, pepper and cayenne. In the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and woo hoo! I’m all caught up on the reasons these are a staple of any food bloggers cabinet, including, in the future, mine.

2 Responses

  1. I love your phrasing, “Worth their cayenne laced salt” So funny.

  2. Great, aren’t they? They certainly disappeared fast enough when we made them. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

