Secretly Salting (Who, Me?): Sweet Potato Whole Wheat Roti

imgp4170Hi, my name is The GastroGnome and I am a Saltaholic. I love salt. I love that regular old iodinized table salt, I love kosher salt, I love fancy Maldon and Fleur de Sel. I even love the book ‘Salt’ by Mark Kurlansky. Once I may have attempted to make my own salt. So now that that is all settled, I can explain how this relates to the delicious sweet potato roti that I made the other night.

imgp4177

See, I love making my own breads and pastas and what not, but it is often a lot of work. And sometimes a lot of waiting. So when I heard about how easy Roti was to make, I thought this was great. The fact that I could even use some of my quickly decaying sweet potatoes in it was even better.  But when I got around to actually putting together the dough, something was missing. I chopped up a few spicy peppers, my usual solution to the problem. That was nice but it didn’t solve my flavor issues. I opened the cabinet, in search of inspiration from my collection of spices, expecting to throw in a little bit of garam masala or something.

I found one better. I met Janna, the wonderful woman behind Secret Stash Salts the previous night and she had left me with two of her creations. Seeing the soy salt staring up at me, I knew immediately just how perfectly it would go with the spicy peppers and the sweetness of the sweet potato. It added both the salt and the extra kick I needed for flavor and my problems were solved.

We served our sweet potato and whole wheat roti with a simple cabbage and vinegar dish and it was great, as it really let the flavor of the roti shine. Also, if you are wondering, these are so easy to make, so please don’t hesitate!

Sweet Potato Roti

2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
2 medium sized sweet potatos
2 tsp vegetable oil
1 spicy pepper
1 teaspoon of Secret Stash Soy Salt

Peel the sweet potatoes, cube them and nuke them in the microwave for about 6 minutes, stirring around occasionally. When they are supersoft, take them out and mash them. I mixed mine in the kitchenaid, but by hand should work too. Mix the mash with the flour, the oil, the spicy pepper (finely minced) and the soy salt. Cover with plastic and let it sit for about half an hour.

Depending on the size and how good you are at rolling, this makes 10-20 roti. I didn’t roll mine superthin, maybe 1/4 inch, and I made them small so that I could eat a lot of them! Roll them out into (vaguely) round shapes on a floured surface.

To cook, simply put in a (ungreased) very hot cast iron skillet (or griddle if you have one). They will begin to bubble and brown after about a minute, then you flip them till they do the same on the other side.

One Response

  1. So I guess you weren’t too put out by the rather salty crab cakes the other night? Love those Secret Stash salts!

Leave a Reply

