Hunger Challenge Day 4: Risk Taking

The first thing I noticed in shopping for this challenge was that I took less risk in shopping. Normally I pull anything of the shelf and figure out what to do with it later. With the limited amount of money, I was more careful. I’m not really sure why, as I’ve never run into an issue with experimentation, but it was a reaction to the challenge. Yet as I prepared my dinner for Thursday (I did so Wednesday evening) I took a risk and made a new dish.

imgp4282Knowing that I had a soccer game at 7pm on Thursday, I prepared dinner Wednesday night. With a fridge full of leftover roasted chicken and a ton of masa left from the tortillas, I knew I had to do a take on my usual casserole. And it was darn easy. Even if I forgot it in the oven so there is a brown yolk. If you remember to take it out of the oven at the right time, you won’t have this problem.

Leftover Chicken Casserole

2 cups masa
1 cup water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chicken fat (or lard if you have it)
1/3 of a leftover Chicken
2 jalapenos
4 eggs
4 stalks Cilantro
4 cups chicken stock

Mix the masa, water and chicken fat (I had some leftover from making the stock) and whip, so that you get a nice, light dough. In a 9in square baking pan, shred the chicken and arrange it in a layer, then sprinkle 1 jalapeno over it. Pour chicken stock to just cover it. Pat the masa into flat circles and arrange in a single layer, as close to completely covering the chicken as possible. Make another layer of chicken and jalapenos, repeat with the stock and then crack the three eggs, trying to get them all spread out. Another layer of masa, add a touch more stock for moisture and the fourth egg on the top, in the center. Mostly for show. Into the oven at 425 for an hour and you’re all set. Sprinkle with cilantro. I also served this with leftover cucumber, lime and jalapeno salsa.

For lunch we simply had the leftovers of last nights dinner, as it was so incredibly good. I now live for pork cheeks. Bacon is so last year. Breakfast was again lentils.

4 Responses

  1. OMG that sounds good. I’m so making that for breakfast!

  2. Um. It was so good. Is so good (shovels more into face). I’m eating it right now for lunch…

  3. With respect, I am willing to bet you returned to favourite or trusted recipes because you only did this a week. You may have found ways to play with recipies if given enough time.

    I imagine I’m not the only one to say something like this, but I grew up rather poor. I remember sandwiches made with government bread and cheese.

    I also remember the food banks. They would sometimes have what seemed to my 6-10 year-old eyes as the strangest things, surplus from whatever farm was around, at a guess. My mother or my grandparents and I made do, though. Example: Try cooking fiddleheads without internet access or even knowing what they are. 🙂

    The default seemed to be “just throw it in the wok with butter” but we often experimented in ways to combine vegetables and especially meats with pasta, rice, or whatever was available to make larger meals with left-overs for lunches… and to see what was tasty, of course.

  4. i want to try making that casserole.
    i enjoyed reading this. i think it is fun to make-do

Leave a Reply

