Pomegranate Sorbet

IMGP4424Pomegranate Sorbet. That’s what it is, plain and simple. Both infused with and garnished with grapefruit mint from my garden. Not grapefruit and mint, but rather a mint that has a wonderful citrus-y tang to it.

I chose to make pomegranate sorbet because the temperatures were climbing (and staying high) and I had yet to get all the ice cream making supplies in house yet, so there wasn’t much to choose from. A few POM Wonderful pomegranate juice bottles had been languishing away in the back of our fridge since they sent me them to sample a few months back. B drank a few, but I’m not a juice person of any kind (if I’m drinking its almost certainly water or alcohol) so they had gone unused, save the undistinguished pomegranate-chipotle wing BBQ sauce I’d made. Tasty, but not especially interesting.

So where was I? Temperatures climbing, lots of free pomegranate juice. New garden, filled with odd flavored mint. Combine, stir, shake, enjoy!

The sorbet is a little tart, as I’m not much of a sweets person, but just add more sugar if you are, or use this as a fabulous palate cleanser between courses.

Pomegranate Sorbet

3 Cups Pomegranate Juice
1 Cup Sugar
1 Cup Water
a few leaves of grapefruit mint, plus more to garnish

Bring the juice, sugar and water to a boil, add the leaves and let them steep for 15 minutes. Strain, then cool down in the fridge. Churn and eat! Or freeze and eat later, but if you do, be sure to pull it out of the fridge 10 minutes before you want to eat it, it freezes hard.

2 Responses

  1. I had to pot all the mint I have because its just spread like a weed. Keep an eye on your mint.

    I too used odd flavored mint the other day. I infused a half and half combination of apple cider vinegar and white wine vinegar with raspberries, then made a vinagrette with the juice of an orange, olive oil, and some pineapple mint.

  2. This looks wonderful and I hope to make it for a dinner that we are hosting on Friday ! Thanks for the awesome idea and beautiful picture.

Leave a Reply

