Double the Fun: Corn Soup, Corn Fritters

IMGP4613

Corn fritters may not sound like the most exciting thing on earth, but they were delicious and they were twice as exciting because they were made from what otherwise would have been thrown in the trash.

Backing up, I had five beautiful ears of corn. Gorgeous specimens, the epitome of late summer embodied in tiny, yellow toothed fabulosity. Yet, somehow, in the week I had had them, I had yet to use them in anything! It was a crime against fresh produce, an evil act upon the tasty treats. Teetering on the edge of no longer being good, I lunged to save them from the oncoming grasp of the twin terrors, mold and shriveling. Just in time, I put together a great corn soup. When I finished the soup, I did something I rarely do, partially because I’m lazy and partially because I like to leave my soups rustic, with something to bite into: I strained it. This created the effect of a beautiful, creamy, silken soup. It also left me with a mash of ingredients that hadn’t made it through the straining. Everything was edible, and I knew there was a way to use it, I just hadn’t figured it out yet.

When I have this kind of cooker’s block, I open the fridge, I contemplate it and I probably snack on some olives while I think, but I didn’t even get that far. Adding in flour, baking soda and an egg, I rolled the mash/dough into little balls, squished them flat and pan fried them, gleefully giddy as I watched them puff up into hybrid biscuit/pancakes/fritters. Damn they were good.
Summer is fun, and the corn is plentiful, but it is just that much better when you get to double your fun and use it all twice!

Corn Soup
5 Ears of corn, cut off the cob
2 Cloves of Garlic, peeled
3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 Small Serrano Pepper
3 Cups Chicken Stock
Salt, to taste

When I began this soup, I planned to add more spices, but in the end, this turns out to be so simple and beautiful, that I left it alone. Heat the oil and fry the garlic, pepper and corn for a few minutes. When it smells good and delicious (about 5 minutes) add the chicken stock, bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer. Let simmer for about an hour–more if you’d like, then blend (I used an immersion blender). I strained mine through a small mesh strainer, though I think cheesecloth in a colander would work just as well. Be sure to really squeeze all the liquid out. The soup is then ready to go. Save that mash of corn, garlic and pepper bits though, for…

Corn Fritters
Mash from above
About 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
1.5 teaspoons baking powder
1 egg
Olive oil
Salt

Add the egg and the baking powder to the mash, then start adding flour. This is a bit of a judgment call on how much to add, just keep going until you have a thick dough–more like cookie dough than pancake batter. Roll the dough into individual balls–smaller than a golf ball. If you keep your hands moist, they won’t stick to you as much. Heat the olive oil, just enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Press each ball flat as you place it into the oil–doesn’t need to be completely flat, just one squish. When they begin to brown (about a minute or two), flip them. When they’re done, place on paper towels and salt.

Leave a Reply

