10 Minutes to Lobster Mushroom Bisque

Tonight’s dinner, a beautiful Lobster Mushroom Bisque, I made, start to finish in about ten minutes. I’m betting myself I can do the blogpost in an equally small amount of time. Especially easy since in my hurry to scarf the soup, I had no intention of stopping to take a picture.

This dish makes a perfect entrance as the foggy days of fall roll in. Warm, hearty and a soup that’s really a meal. I stole the idea from Carmelita, which did a Lobster Mushroom Bisque in a Tomatillo, hallowed out, for this year’s Sunset Supper event. Theirs actually tasted like lobster bisque. I was aiming for a little less dairy creaminess, so I didn’t use milk or cream in mine.

Lobster Mushroom Bisque

1 Large Lobster Mushroom or a few small ones
2 tablespoons of butter
1 cup of flour
2 cups of chicken or turkey stock
Salt, pepper, thyme to taste
Splash of Sherry vinegar

To make a roux, melt the butter in the bottom of the pot, adding in the flour and stirring. I didn’t brown mine, I mostly wanted the thickness, not the flavor. When it was good and ready, I added the stock, bringing it to a boil. While that does it’s thing, chop the lobster mushroom. Let it simmer for about two minutes, then blend. Salt, Pepper and fresh thyme to taste, then finish with a splash of sherry vinegar.

3 Responses

  1. […] categories, most notably for me, cookware. If you read my blog, there are a few mushroom recipes: Lobster Mushroom Bisque, Chanterelles with pasta, but I’d love to have more options. So, tell me the most delicious […]

  2. […] If you’re anything like me, you think nothing beats a bowl of soup on a cool day. If you’re even more like me, you’ll doubt my assertion that this type of soup does in fact act as an entire meal–all the more so if you’ve got a hunk of crusty bread around too. The quick-roux makes for a soup that has some heft to it, seemingly creamy with out any cream. Basic steps are to melt butter, stir in a little bit of flour, add your vegetable, bring to a boil, blend and serve. This fall I’ve been obsessively making Lobster Mushroom Bisque. […]

  3. I’m glad that it turned out so effectively and I hope it will continue in the future because it is so worthwhile and meaningful to the community. afcedkdecfgg

Leave a Reply

