What have I been up to?

Life gets busy sometimes, and shocked as you are by it, I’m sure, posting on my blog is one of the things that has a tendency to fall by the wayside. Not to worry, though, as I’ve been having a good time. First I want to share with you what I will be up to in the next few days, weeks, whenever.

2009 KBA Poster

Without delving into the irony of a Taste of Kirkland being held in Woodinville, I will point out that the salient fact here is that I am crossing the lake for an event (pausing for applause). No, am not going solely because Pat Cashman, formerly of Almost Live! is hosting, though I’ll admit it is a draw. No, I’m going because Kirkland being our neighbors to the Northeast that I almost never make it to have seized the opportunity to strut their stuff and I’m going to open my mouth and stuff down that strut. I love an event with competitive cooking (there is voting and awards) and also ones sponsored by wineries. It’ll be Friday the 25th and you can get more information here.

I’ve also been taking Cheese Making classes at the Cellar Homebrew Store, which is great both because I’m learning about cheese and how to make it and also because it is next door to Fu Man Dumpling House, home of delicious dumplings of all kinds. Next up, I’ll be starting a Mushroom class, through the Puget Sound Mycological Society.

Where have I been? Well, I had a somewhat famous lunch date last week, as you can read about here. Want a hint? It was with a former NYT Restaurant writer at the temple of all things meaty in this town. And the owners were so generous as to give me a bag from the American Lamb Society that says things like “I love EWE” and “This Lamb is my lamb, this lamb is your lamb”. Sigh. I was a happy girl.

And there was this delicious meal, with a crew of my favorite eaters in the whole world.

Lastly, I made another attempt at the foodie icon of xiao long bao. While my pleating skills are coming along, and having a small wooden dowel for a rolling pin helped, I have to admit I still need more practice before I can open that soup dumpling stand of my dreams. In the meantime, I’ve just got to keep eating the ones I make for practice. Oh, darn.

2 Responses

  1. You’re a busy lady, and it’s not even coaching season yet! I’m interested in hearing how your cheese-making classes went; that’s an art I’d like to learn.

  2. I saw the banner on the storefront yesterday and was wondering about that cheese class. When does the next one start?

Leave a Reply

